I received an offer of employment from Western Geco Ltd. How can I know if this is a scam or not?


The general rule of thumb with things like this, is that if you even need to ask if it could be a hoax – Its a Hoax! :-)

Follow that rule and you won't get caught out!

How can I find employment that will allow me to fly from PA to SC on occasion? Xtended family lives there.?

7 Responses to “I received an offer of employment from Western Geco Ltd. How can I know if this is a scam or not?”

  • dawn2391 says:

    Did you apply or interview for the job? If not, then it probably is a scam. Nobody hires you without an interview unless you applied through a temporary service. Could they have had the wrong phone number maybe?
    References :

  • Ghostgirl1991 says:

    don't you mean WesternGeco Ltd? My mum works there so its a real company
    References :

  • nealo d says:

    This question pops up now and again on here- it's just another phishing scam, I'm afraid. Don't give them any personal information.

    As ghostgirl says, Western Geco is a real company- but it is not they who have contacted you. (The yahoo.com email adress rather than the company name.com is a giveaway.)
    References :

  • claimbankchargesback says:

    The general rule of thumb with things like this, is that if you even need to ask if it could be a hoax – Its a Hoax! :-)

    Follow that rule and you won't get caught out!
    References :

  • Rebecca says:

    well did you apply to them for a job?
    if not then it's likely to be some sort of scam – like someone said if you need to ask then it probably is!
    why not find a number for the company from 192.com/yell.com etc and speak to someone there about it just to set your mind at rest.
    References :

  • choski says:

    I have had a quick look on the internet an found some interesting reading. From what I can find it does look like a scam. They say that they are offering you employment but to process your "documents" and legal immigration paperwork etc then they will require a fee of something like £900. It also seems that alot of the email address used are fakes. Have a look at some of the comments on the website links below. Alternatively type "Western Geco Ltd" into google and you will see for yourself. Good luck but I would be very cautious.
    References :
    http://forum.scambaits.com/showthread.php?p=26594

  • Steve B says:

    Easy :-
    1) Did you apply for a Job with them ?
    No = it's a scam
    2) Could they have your contact details from a legitimate source (i.e. did you give them out to an Agency etc ?)
    No = it's a scam
    3) Is the 'Reply to' address @ the Company ?
    (ie. "[email protected] (or @WesternGeco.com) ?
    No = it's a scam ..
    4) Did they ask for your CV ?
    No = it's a scam
    5) Have you attended an INTERVIEW with them ?
    No = it's a scam

    No sane Company offers Jobs to random people based on their email address – if they never even saw your CV and you never went for interview it's an obvious SCAM.

    Sorry
    References :

Leave a Reply